Farewell to our Year 12 Leaders

This week we farewelled our amazing Year 12 students, including, of course, our Year 12 Captains and Prefects.
While this year has been different from anything anyone had imagined, our Year 12 Leaders continued to amaze us with their optimism, adaptability, and resilience. They continued to represent their peers, even from behind a screen in their own homes, and while managing the ups and downs of their own remote learning journey. While many of the opportunities normally afforded to Year 12 leaders did not occur in their normal form this year, they embraced new and exciting opportunities such as being involved in the remote learning survey working-party, working with the Year 12 Coordinators Ms Bec Kosach and Ms Antia Hill to design the Year Book, and working with Mr Paul Graham on material for the new Student Wellbeing website.
Prefect Jesse was the elected student representative on College Council, and attended remote council meetings throughout the year, alongside Captains – Amit and Lynn Li, and Deputy Captains, Jennifer and Riyah. Jennifer was one of just six students in the state to be awarded a VCAA Leadership Award in September. Riyah, Jennifer, and Amit presented at the Lessons from Lockdown conference where they shared their learnings and insights from their perspective, with an international audience. Jesse was invited to present in a webinar about remote learning from the perspective of students. A video of the webinar can be found here: https://youtu.be/0logenX42eo
We are very proud of the achievements of all of our Year 12 Leaders this year and thank them for their contributions to the college. We wish them all the best for their upcoming exams and in their future endeavours, and encourage them to join the college alumni program and stay connected to the college via the many opportunities the alumni program presents.

2021 Student Leadership Positions

Interviews have begun for 2021 Year 12 Student Leadership Positions. Thank you to Mrs Julie Cain, Ms Lisa McKiernan, Mr Matt Cara, Ms Bec Kosach, Ms Antia Hill, Mr Jacob Myers, Ms Tijtje Ellis, Ms Ruby Hooke, Mr Liam Wall, Mr Ian MacLeod, and Ms Jane Carter for their time and effort in shortlisting and interviewing candidates for various positions in the 2021 Year 12 Leadership Team. We hope to announce our 2021 Year 12 Leadership Team prior to the Early Commencement Program.
Interviews for Junior Campus Captains and House Captain positions will occur over the coming weeks. Thank you to Mr John Simon, Mr Nic Barca, and Mr Andrew Batchelor for their time and effort in promoting these opportunities to our current Year 7 students and shortlisting and interviewing candidates.

Applications for 2021 Year 11 Leadership positions are now open and close on November 6. Current Year 8 and 9 students will hear more about 2021 leadership opportunities before the end of the year.


Miss Hayley Dureau
Head of Student Voice