Karen Wade - Principal

Communication is vital

Mount Waverley Secondary College has a commitment to provide all the care and support necessary for each student to do their best and achieve the highest possible learning outcomes.  It is important that when families have concerns about their children they contact the relevant staff members immediately to ensure a quick supportive response.

I encourage families to maintain open communication with staff members to ensure each student is provided with optimal support.

The most appropriate staff members to talk to when you have specific concerns are the classroom teachers, then Year Level Coordinator, then Sub School Leader or Head of Sub School prior to contacting one of the Assistant Principals.  These are the staff members who have a thorough understanding of the needs of the students in their care:-


Year Level Coordinators

Year 7         Ms Emma Kerr, Ms Katie Radak

Year 8         Mr Wen Way Lim, Ms Belinda Gatward

Year 9         Mrs Kate Reichman, Ms Rebecca Kosach

Year 10       Ms Mardi deKretser, Mrs Glenda Splatt

Year 11       Ms Gokce Delioglu, Mr Peter Schneider

Year 12       Ms Linda Crook, Ms Brittany Barber


Junior School Leader              Ms Lauren Kelly

Head of Junior School             Mr John Simon


Middle School Leader             Mrs Jan Pugsley

Head of Middle School            Ms Lisa McKiernan


Senior School Leader             Ms Claire McCormack

Head of Senior School            Ms Maureen Theobald


During the last few weeks I have visited many classrooms and I have been very impressed with how focussed the teaching and learning activities have been.  Teachers and students are clearly demonstrating our motto “Community, Choice and Engagement”.  I am particularly pleased to report our new Year 7 students are making a very smooth transition to the college.

Walking around with visitors to the college, they observed that our teachers and students seem to have a lovely rapport in the classroom.  Our college is a safe and caring learning community and our students and staff believe that Mount Waverley Secondary College is a very special place which offers magnificent learning opportunities.


Community Involvement

Research clearly indicates that if parents are involved in their child’s education, they enhance the learning outcomes for their students.  I would like to thank all the parents who have already volunteered to be involved in our learning community.


Parents of Mount

Parents of Mount holds regular meetings and helps support college activities.  If you would like to become a member please refer to the Parents of Mount page on the college website.



 Ritchies – Community Benefits 

I encourage all parents to patronise Ritchies Supermarkets and access a Community Benefits Card, nominating Mount Waverley Secondary College as your preferred beneficiary.  Each time you shop at Ritchies you will be actively contributing to your child’s education by helping us continue to provide quality resources throughout the college.


Student/ Parent/Teacher Conferences

Our first student/parent/teacher conferences for the year will be held on Thursday 19 April from 1.00pm-4.30pm and 5.00pm-7.30pm.  Further information will be sent out closer to the time.


Working Bee

Our first working bee for the year will be held on Sunday 18 March from 9.00am until noon on the Junior Campus.  It would be great to see as many families there as possible.


School Council Election 2018

Congratulations to our new and returning members; (Huei Eow, Russell Bunce, Andrew Boys, Ian Davidson, Debbie Sekula) were successful in their nomination for College Council for the term March 2018 to February 2020. They will join our other parents, staff and community representatives on our College Council with the first meeting of the new council to be held on Thursday 15 March.


2018    Parent Members are:

            Mr Russell Bunce

            Mr Huei Eow

            Mr Andrew Boys

            Mrs Erica McGown

            Mr Nishant Patel

            Mr Iain Shearer

            Ms Nicola Thomas

2018    Staff Members are:

            Mr Ian Davidson

            Ms Debbie Sekula

            Ms Lisa McKiernan

            Mr Bill Thomas

2018    Community Members are our College Captains:

            Vidarshana Satish

            Liam Radi       

 If any other members of our learning community would like to attend our Special Meeting of College Council on 15 March, as an observer, you are most welcome. The meeting will start at 7.30pm in the Senior Campus Conference Room.



Mrs Karen Wade

College Principal